"The sea envelopes our islands and our lives" -CEO

Brief History

After four year since the Federated States of Micronesia declared a 200 miles Extended Fishery zone (1979) and gaining financial benefits from the foreign access fishing fees, the FSM leaders decided that perhaps, it wil be appropriate for FSM-owned companies and its people to venture into the tuna fishing industry. The objective was to capture more of the benefits from the Nation's single largest resouce. As a result, in 1983 the FSM Congress established the National Fisheries Corporation (NFC) under Public Law 3-4. Its main purpose is to promote the development of the pelagic fisheries and its related industries for the benefit of the FSM people. The aim was to develope commercial tuna fisheries development on its own, with the individual States' entities and or foreign interest through joint ventures.

Commencement NFC's operation started in 1987, but during the first few years, it focused mainly on developing business plans and training of citizens for tuna longtime fishing. Therefore, its activities shifted to investment in tuna purse seining, longtime fishing, locally owned share side facilities and support sevices for the industry.

Board of Directors

Marion Henry FSM Representative (FSM R&D)
Casiano Shoniber Chairman- Pohnpei State Representative
Stoney Taulung Member - Kosrae State Representative
Eugene Pangelinan FSM Representative (Executive Director of NORMA)
Johnny Meippen Vice Chairman- Chuuk State Representative
Jesse Gadjusek Member – Yap State Representative
Mason Albert Secretary/Treasurer – FSM Representative

Executive Staff

Herodes David Fishing Operation Manager
Patricia Jack CEO/President
Kei Hirose Director of TMC

Administrative Staff

Suparman Totong Tuna Transshipment Officer
Auslynn Lambert Neth Senior Accountant
Cora N. Yoma Accountant
Johannes Getarmwai Information Technology Staff
Kurt Alexander Fish Handler
Kimio Peter Administrative Assistant for KFC
Rose Nakasone Administrative Manager for NFC
Andrea Nimwes Secretary 1 for NFC
Wayne Hadley Manning